That was the weekend that was

Back in the castle after a really good weekend in York. Visited the Jorvik Centre and was transported back to the viking settlement in 970 AD where over 10 000 people lived! Moving on we viewed the Roman Baths and then walked around the walls. Back in the present then watched the footy – Chelski v Arsenal – not impressed.
The weather had been sunny and hot – different to yesterday when I travelled back through the wilds of Yorkshire and Sherwood Forest in heavy rain.
Last night had a belated birthday meal, with a friend,in the nearby market town of Ashby de la Zouch.Most enjoyable.
 
 

http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/server.php?show=ConProperty.53

http://www.jorvik-viking-centre.co.uk/jorvik-navigation.htm

 Not only am I missing music here I see you can "do" videos  

5 thoughts on “That was the weekend that was

  1. Hi. Thanks for stopping on by and pinning my map. Hope you enjoyed your stay, come back and see me again some time. Cheers!

  2. Glad to see your back and had a good time in the world of time past…….I am surprised Ashby is so close to the Castle of Glencairn…..having lived in Burton some years ago and now just over the border in Derbyshire it\’s not quite the Mist and Magic of the Glens of Scotland…….never mind when I look across at Bredon-on-the-Hill I can see all those soldiers of yore gathering outside the church ready to march to Naseby … The mind is a wonderful thing……….Welcome Back!

  3. Hi thanks for stopping by……see we forced the follow-on……….don\’t know how many ducks we\’ve got though lol

  4. Hi, I see that you like salted herring too? Something I wouldn\’t miss each time I\’m in Holland. But I wouldn\’t eat it whole! Some of the pictures are remarkable like the "misty morning" and "autumn". I visited York in 1989 with a couple, he\’s from York and she\’s from Singapore, and our young babies. Have a nice day! Chris

Comments are closed.