Let not these four walls a prison make…

 

morning all – well 10 people visited this site yesterday and not one comment. Nobody, it appears, is concerned about the issue so why should I? Today I turn over this space to my daughter………She spends most of her time indoors because of her disability, this piece was aired on her local radio station…..

 

"The window opens up a world to me like bars on a prison cell. I see an old man who digs his garden to tend to his vegetables. He stands, looks up and waves.

Then I smell the cooking of dinner next door, it makes me hungry. My friends come and see me, all the birds you see. I have a tree outside that I can see out of my window. There are bird feeders and they love them, sparrows, robins, blue tits and more.

When I get outside, I look at my plants and their happy nodding heads. The fresh air is cooling and welcome and the sun’s hot rays ease my joints. I go to the beach and sit on the golden sand. The sea is so calming and serene.

I take off my shoes and paddle in the water and the waves are like silk lapping over my feet. The sound of people laughing and having fun is music to my ears. Fish and chips for supper and an ice cream or two.

In ******* the new and old dance together like old friends. The cathedral’s spire towers high, slicing through the clouds and up to God above. The streets are full of people going on their way. Like little ants they rush here and there.

The smell of a bakers and the lilt of the ******* voice make me smile. I go down by the river to feed the swans and the boats are moored by the sides. Buildings are being knocked down.

The football stadium looms over me, green and yellow is all I see. Like birds in a hurry as people mill by to go to the match.

Up the cobble streets I go, to another time and space. You feel like time has stopped and an eerie chill surrounds the streets. I think I can hear the sound of horses’ hooves somewhere in the past.

Then I see the flat lands of the Fens stretching as far as the eye can see. Apple trees in the spring come to life, blossom like a spark of light that has just been switched on.

The gentle flow of the river nearby, no-one around to hear. Birds call and tractors dig in the earth to bring life to the barren land. Then a mist appears. I am back on my bed, looking out of my window. You see, this ******* life is just a dream to me."

 

copywrite remains with her.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 thoughts on “Let not these four walls a prison make…

  1. Oh I am sad you are not going to be doing your blogs – I do visit but didnt put a comment on this time as I seem to take up so much of your comments:) Anyway thought I would just ask you to go and visit this space – your daughter might be inspired by him – I would like very much if you would write and tell me yours and her thoughts to paulinebeames@hotmail.com – this is his space – I think you will be amazed. Let me know your thoughts:)http://spaces.msn.com/members/smalls149/

  2. Hey- It is interesting to find out who Donny are play next 😀 I thought the decision for a sending off of the Barnet goalkeeper was harsh- It give Barnet even less chance then they had before :O

  3. I am not really the Laird of Kiloran. I like your space but it is weird. I think you may be too. Take care, LOK

  4. Yes, for the most part it is that simple. The difficulty is in learning to trust our instincts and intuition. Trusting that, based on everything we have experienced in our life, we have a hidden storehouse of knowledge within us. Instead of worrying and panicking when something goes wrong, we sit quietly and trust that some part of us has the answer. Granted this takes courage. .。.:⊹⊱✿*Rose If…If you can keep your head when all about youAre losing theirs and blaming it on you,If you can trust yourself when all men doubt you,But make allowance for their doubting too;If you can wait and not be tired by waiting,Or being lied about, don\’t deal in lies,Or being hated, don\’t give way to hating,And yet don\’t look too good, nor talk too wise:If you can dream – and not make dreams your master;If you can think – and not make thoughts your aim;If you can meet with Triumph and DisasterAnd treat those two impostors just the same;If you can bear to hear the truth you\’ve spokenTwisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,Or watch the things you gave your life to broken,And stoop and build \’em up with worn-out tools:If you can make one heap of all your winningsAnd risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss,And lose, and start again at your beginningsAnd never breathe a word about your loss;If you can force your heart and nerve and sinewTo serve your turn long after they are gone,And so hold on when there is nothing in youExcept the Will which says to them: \’Hold on!\’If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,Or walk with kings – nor lose the common touch,If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,If all men count with you, but none too much;If you can fill the unforgiving minuteWith sixty seconds\’ worth of distance run -Yours is the Earth and everything that\’s in it,And – which is more – you\’ll be a Man my son!Rudyard Kipling

  5. Hello,That\’s a shame. I hardly get to know you and you are giving up this blog. I\’m going to miss your visits on my blog. You can still leave your comments on mine if you wish. I didn\’t get to listen to the local radio being in France. Bon courage to your daughter.

  6. I think I may have misunderstood your comment about `turning over your space to your daughter`. I think a few others did too:) Perhaps you only meant for that particular day? Anyway your daughter obviously follows her fathers footsteps in regards to writing – she painted a picture and for a while I was with her visulising what she saw and what she heard and what she felt – a lovely meditation and a place for her to always return to – her `Space` to escape to when she needs to get away. It is good she has this ability. Best wishes

Comments are closed.