BATTLE OF AGINCOURT

 
Ever wonder what it is about the month of October?
So many heroic battles.
50 years ago today the world ignored the plight of the brave men and women of Hungary. 
 
On St Crispin’s day,the 25th October 1415 an exhausted, sick and starving English army are faced by a confident foe outnumbering them four to one. Forced into battle and against all odds, they anihilate the French and slaughter the flower of French nobility.
4kb jpg statue of Saint Crispian
 
If we are mark’d to die, we are enow
To do our country loss; and if to live,
The fewer men, the greater share of honour.
God’s will! I pray thee, wish not one man more.
By Jove, I am not covetous for gold,
Nor care I who doth feed upon my cost;
It yearns me not if men my garments wear;
Such outward things dwell not in my desires.
But if it be a sin to covet honour,
I am the most offending soul alive.
No, faith, my coz, wish not a man from England.
God’s peace! I would not lose so great an honour
As one man more methinks would share from me
For the best hope I have. O, do not wish one more!
Rather proclaim it, Westmoreland, through my host,
That he which hath no stomach to this fight,
Let him depart; his passport shall be made,
And crowns for convoy put into his purse;
We would not die in that man’s company
That fears his fellowship to die with us.
This day is call’d the feast of Crispian.
He that outlives this day, and comes safe home,
Will stand a tip-toe when this day is nam’d,
And rouse him at the name of Crispian.
He that shall live this day, and see old age,
Will yearly on the vigil feast his neighbours,
And say ‘To-morrow is Saint Crispian.’
Then will he strip his sleeve and show his scars,
And say ‘These wounds I had on Crispian’s day.’
Old men forget; yet all shall be forgot,
But he’ll remember, with advantages,
What feats he did that day. Then shall our names,
Familiar in his mouth as household words-
Harry the King, Bedford and Exeter,
Warwick and Talbot, Salisbury and Gloucester-
Be in their flowing cups freshly rememb’red.
This story shall the good man teach his son;
And Crispin Crispian shall ne’er go by,
From this day to the ending of the world,
But we in it shall be remembered-
We few, we happy few, we band of brothers;
For he to-day that sheds his blood with me
Shall be my brother; be he ne’er so vile,
This day shall gentle his condition;
And gentlemen in England now-a-bed
Shall think themselves accurs’d they were not here,
And hold their manhoods cheap whiles any speaks
That fought with us upon Saint Crispin’s day.
 
‘ King Henry V’
 
 Wm. Shakespeare  [1564 – 1616]     
 
 
 
6 thoughts on “BATTLE OF AGINCOURT

  1. 🙂 well I couldnt help complaining, just sort of happened :)! Well thats a good theory, 🙂 something that I can see as being a good thing really. 🙂 well I guess everyone learns as they go along, but it is nice when those who have experienced more and are wiser to talk to others about their experiences and help them learn those things as well, Its a good thing!
    Hope you have a great Samhain :D…. I\’m looking forward to it!
    Blessed Be!

  2. i always leave your space knowing that i am better informed for having been here.
    thanks for posting such diverse and interesting subjects.
    never too old to learn.
    love, beth.
     

  3. haha, beijing,shanghai and hongkong are the most famous cities in China, have you been to one of them?well, warmly welcome to my hometown and i will show you around the places of interest. you have been retired and still single?it\’s hard to imagine. oh, i haven\’t made clear that which country you stay in, U.S.A or U.K or others?please tell me next time. i\’m very curious about your life, what do you usually do in your free time, and your hobby, the delious food you like etc. i\’m fond of reading, writing novels(it\’s pity you can\’t read my novels which were written in Chinese) ,watching football ,playing badminton,traveling .haha, so many interests. i am working now, a little busy, talk to you next time. have a nice day!

  4. Hi there, Thanks for leaving me a note after visiting my space.
    I can\’t explain why America celebrates Halloween. In Holland most people don\’t. We have another festivity, it\’s called Saint Martin. It\’s always at November the eleventh. The kids make Chinese Lanterns at school and walk in the evening with their lantern, singing songs along the houses in their neighbourhood. Are you familiar with the story of Saint Martin? If you don\’t, tell me and I will try to explain it to you.
    Greetz, Mylène

  5. Hello Laird,  I am frequently treated with great glimpses into history or poetry or in the case of this blog, both.  I\’ll keep coming back… it makes me more well rounded.  I really liked your "Is it me or…" post.  I am on the management side, though on a much smaller scale… but sometimes… corporate bureaucracy… makes me insane… I can see where you are coming from… common sense isn\’t common.  C-ya, Ron

  6.  hi, laird. thanks for your comment on mine. i think you woulda had to go deep into hulme to find the spinners. it was demolished at the end of the 80s, which was prob best end to it. i know there are still pubs like it in parts of manchester, tho i believe they are more dangerous these days as everyone carries a gun. no fun.
     anyway, glad you support gods own team, lol. take care and be lucky.    phil

Comments are closed.