NATIONAL MOTH NIGHT 2007

 

 

The last time that National Moth Night was held in August was the year 2001. That event was also
held on 11 August, which offers an opportunity to make some interesting comparisons. A total of 682
species was recorded at 389 sites around Britain and Ireland on NMN 2001.
Can this total be beaten in 2007? Participants throughout the British Isles are encouraged to record the moths in their chosen location and the results are pooled into Britain’s largest survey of what species are flying around the country. Much important information has been generated, including new county records, new sites for scarce species and records of rare immigrants. Public events take place around the country, which can be a great introduction to the world of moths. National Moth Night grabs the imagination of those taking part and has involved some fine displays of British eccentricity in terms of unusual methods of recording moths, as well as visits to some unusual locations. August is an interesting time for moth recorders with a variety of colourful and scarce species on the wing. Widespread immigration from other parts of Europe, or even Africa, may take place if conditions
are favourable. Species range from the tiny Diamond-back Moth to the enormous Convolvulus Hawk-moth.
Many of these immigrant species are quite common and may be recorded in just about any part of Britain
and Ireland. Winds blowing in from the Continent may bring with them much rarer species too.

http://www.nationalmothnight.info/links.php 

 

1999 Lobster Moth

 

And with any luck you may see:

Pleiades

I go outside in search of shooting stars,
Longing for the thrill of seeing
Arcs of fire explode across the heavens.

I hoist myself into the hammock,
Look up, and find that cloud has drifted in.
I lie, deflated, until a breeze begins
To stir the poplar leaves.

A bat darts out from the gloom
Performs a dark dance against the milky sky;
A hedgehog scuffles in the bushes behind me;
The cat leaps up, purring with joy at finding
A human out at night.

I am as happy as if I had seen
A hundred shooting stars.

Chrissie Williams, August 2003

 

 

6 thoughts on “NATIONAL MOTH NIGHT 2007

  1. Laird,have been thinking of you and a comment you made a while back and wanted to ask you about it.  You talked of driving down south in "weather".  Were you talking about here in the states, or there in England.  You also mentioned that you dad would love the pictures of the river…please explain.
    As far as moths are concerned, echh…they just ruin my cashmere sweaters…can\’t stand to see them any time! (but I know you won\’t hold that against me as I didn\’t your comment about disliking Eastenders!)
    Do come by and visit the ocean here, have had a grand time this past week with my Lily.
    Loved the BH look, you haven\’t changed a bit (that was a year before I was born!). I somehow missed that.  Didn\’t you say you got a digital….you must put some recent photos of your travels (even if it is just to the pub and back).
    Laird, do hope you consider me one of the "good fortunes" to run into,your NC friend,Sheila 

  2.  Hey Laird,
     
    Hmmm … National Moth Night … I\’m not sure I could get into it .. lying in a hammock under the stars … now that\’s what I\’m talking about.  😉
     

  3. After being attacked by a Kamikazi Moth in my kids bedroom you can most definetly count me out on that one. 
     
    Q.  How do we mere mortals who can\’t tell one moth from another actually know which moth we\’re running from?
     
    Jill xxx

  4. hey there £aird, can you ID the moth on my space would be glad if you can
     
    Suki x 

  5. arrgghhh noooo i don\’t believe there is such a thing as a moth night. yeeuk i am having he-be-gee-bees at the thought, shudder, shudder. All moths even mini moths should populate another planet please.
    But love the pic and poem of the starry skies.
    mariex
     

Comments are closed.