O AUTUMN

 

This weekend the clocks turn back one hour.

The best way to remember the change is this:
 In spring the clocks leap forward; in autumn they fall back.
 

clocks back

 

Just a few seasonal words – until I return in a week or two.

Following a trip to Jorvik and with a rejuvanated computer.

Red rose

 

 

O Autumn, laden with fruit, and stained
With the blood of the grape, pass not, but sit
Beneath my shady roof; there thou may’st rest,
And tune thy jolly voice to my fresh pipe;
And all the daughters of the year shall dance!
Sing now the lusty song of fruit and flowers.
–  William Blake, To Autumn, 1783

 

There is a harmony in autumn, and a luster in its sky, which through the summer is not heard or seen, as if it could not be, as if it had not been!
Shelley.

 

Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.
–George Eliot

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “O AUTUMN

  1. Laird
    my favorite time of year I think beause it reminds me of the 11th hour, trying to cram everything into a small amount of time before that damp cold winter settles in…Have a wonderful time and think of me here slaving away training!
    don\’t even think about leaving without stopping by the Lane first!
    hugs,
    Sheila

  2. I agree it is a beautiful time of year – a time of relaxation too as our bodies like the other animals and mamals prepare to sleep through the hard winter, well ok we dont sleep but my body for one would like to sleep until the Spring! lol   Anyway I hope you got my email and that it has opened a new vista for you and you can dream through the long winter months of what you can plan for the Spring – in the meantime think of me in Spain. Hopefully I will still be able to keep in touch as we have bought something to make our lap top work whilst abroad.  In the meantime have a good journey and hope the lap top you are bringing back is all you want and works!! <hugs> xxx

  3. I love the changes that all the seasons bring; and here William Blake, Shelley and George Eliot, do justice to autum. 
    Enjoy your trip, I shall miss your visits. Please come back soon.
    xxx

  4. Alright now don\’t go fainting or anything, I know its been ages… the problem is, your link on my friends list wouldnt work and I couldnt remember your url… by chance I saw you at Paulines (Sukies), so thought I\’d pop on by…
    I\’m going to add you again, to save me trawling around other peoples spaces when I want to visit…lol
    hope the weekend is going well for you, Enjoy the extra hour in bed tomorrow…
    nice to find you again btw.
    hugs
    Eth 🙂 xxx
     

Comments are closed.