WILLIAM BLAKE BORN 250 YEARS AGO

 

William Blake (November 28, 1757August 12, 1827) was an English poet, painter, and printmaker. Largely unrecognised during his lifetime, Blake’s work is today considered seminal and significant in the history of both poetry and the visual arts. He was voted 38th in a poll of the 100 Greatest Britons organised by the BBC in 2002. Whilst largely remembered for his poem, "Jeruselam" his works are voluminous.

He himself once said, "The imagination is not a State: it is the Human existence itself."

 
 
Never seek to tell thy love,
Love that never told can be;
For the gentle wind doth move
Silently, invisibly.

I told my love, I told my love,
I told her all my heart,
Trembling, cold, in ghastly fears.
Ah! she did depart!

Soon after she was gone from me,
A traveller came by,
Silently, invisibly:
He took her with a sigh.

 
 
 
2 thoughts on “WILLIAM BLAKE BORN 250 YEARS AGO

  1. Good morning your lairdship….
    yep still around, not really sure if I\’m staying or going as msn haven\’t deemed to tell me I have any kind of reprieve… but its been more than 120 hours now, so who knows they\’ve either decided I can stay or the guy/woman who is set to close me down is on Annual leave or something so we\’ll see…lol.
    I don\’t care I\’m still going to be a rebel and keep the half naked turkey up there, let them do their worst…lol
    hope you\’re having a great weekend
    hugs you
    Eth 🙂 xxx

  2. Howdy Laird!oh I have always loved William Blake and this one especially.  There is something to be said for not revealing "all"  when it comes to love. There should always remain a modicum of intrigue. Don\’t you agree? Thank you for sharing this.tripping from the Lane, across the pondSheila

Comments are closed.