Victoriana

 
Richard Dugdale’s —

LINES ON AN ORPHAN.

An Orphan, I was lonely left,
    No kindred lived to cheer;
Of every friendly hand bereft,
    To wipe the Orphan’s tear.
But now Misfortune’s clouds are past,
    No wanderer now I roam;
My wearied feet I rest at last,—
    The Orphan’s found a home.

‘Twas not the wealthy weighed my grief,
    They felt not as I’ve done;
The proffer’d hand which gave relief,
    Was stretched by misery’s son.
The lonely cottage on yon cliff,
    Dashed by the Ocean’s foam;
Has dried the wanderer’s tear-worn cheek,
    ‘Tis now the Orphan’s home.

No more I’ll leave this happy spot,
    Where he was wont to dwell;
Who gave to me his land, his cot,
    Then took a last farewell.
The lily now is blooming gay,
    With which I’ll deck the tomb
Of him, whom heav’n has sent this way
    To bless me with a home.

Branch Road, Blackburn,
    May, 1838.

 

 
 
4 thoughts on “Victoriana

  1. Beautiful and bitterswwet comtemplation!
    Have a great Sunday afternoon and evening Laird
    Best Regards from Alaska

  2. Hello Laird,
     
    I hope you\’ve been having a lovely weekend.  I\’m still buried in snow and it\’s outrageously cold.  Well … it warmed up for a couple of days but that just means it\’s going to snow again. *crosses eyes*
     
    Hugs!
     

  3. lol……never trust any machine translation…..my article is about the new "Enployment/Labor Contract Act", which is supposed to give some long overdue protection for the employed, but has been met with strong opposition from the business world. the article has been trying to analize the good\’s and bad\’s of the Act. my conclusion is that there is no solid ground for those arguments which claim the Act will worsen China\’s economy and reduce our competitive edge. to relieve the impact of the law, we should reform the role of the government to provide more social services to the commons and overhaul our education system….thanks for letting me know what the machine has done. good week ahead!

Comments are closed.